December 1933

21st Amendment Ratified, Prohibition Ended


December 5, 2017 marks 84 years since the United States ratified the 21st Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and paved the way for the modern three-tier beverage alcohol system.

WSWA 69th Annual Convention & Exposition a Huge Success in Las Vegas


Washington, D.C. (April 10, 2012)—The Wine & Spirits Wholesalers of America (WSWA) 69th Annual Convention & Exposition took place last week at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. The annual event showcased a number of innovative, as well as established, wines and spirits. The convention also featured prominent industry professionals as speakers, award honorees, judges and mixology competitors.
“This year’s convention was a tremendous success,” said Craig Wolf, WSWA President and CEO. “We had close to 2,300 attendees, representing an increase of 22% over last year’s high attendance.” He emphasized, “We are excited to provide a valuable gathering in which wholesalers, suppliers and other industry professionals can work together to bring exciting brands to the most dynamic market in the world.”
Event highlights included the U.S. Beverage Alcohol Forum, which presented five compelling educational panels focused on brand activation, industry trends, the three-tier system, social media and building a world-class team.
Three distinguished competitions spotlighted innovative cocktails and spectacular brands, including the following.
Call for Cocktails: Mixology Competition Winners:
1st Place:
·         Berry Essence with Martin Miller’s Gin - created by Freddy Diaz of Kindred Spirits
2nd Place
·         The Chesterfield with Tanteo Cocoa - created by Jason Mendenhall, Park Street Imports
3rd Place
·         Cortez the Killer with Tanteo Tropical - created by Jason Mendenhall, Park Street Imports
Wholesaler Iron Mixologist Competition Winners:
Best in Show Iron Mixologist–as well as Best Aperitif and Best Dessert Cocktail
Francesco Lafranconi of Southern Wine & Spirits
Best Long Drink
Andrew Pollard of Wirtz Beverage
Wine and Spirits Tasting Competitions, sponsored by The Tasting Panel Magazine.
Over 250 brands received Double Gold, Gold and Silver medals, and the following brands were recognized as Best in Show.
·         Alfred Schladerer Williams-Birne Pear Brandy Germany
·         Atlantico Private Cask Rum Dominican Republic
·         Destiladora Del Valle OSKI Russian Polar Bear Vodka Russia
·         Destileria Los Danzantes Mezcalero #4 Mexico
·         Evan Williams 1783 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey USA
·         Glen Dronach 12 yr Highland Single Malt Scotch Whiskey Scotland
·         Martin Miller’s Reformed London Dry Gin England/Iceland
·         Moleca Gold Cachaca, Brazil
·         Revolucion Silver Tequila, Mexico
·         TY KU Soju, Japan
·         Avondale 2006 Syrah, Samsara, South Africa
·         Avondale 2010 Chenin Blanc, Anima, South Africa
·         Bidoli 2011 Pinot Grigio, Friuli, Italy
·         Cirulli 2008 Bordeaux Blend, 1861 San Valentino, Umbria, Italy
·         Conte d’Attimis-Maniago 2007 White Blend, Ronco Broilo, Colli Orientali del Friuli, Italy
·         Fetzer Vineyards 2010 Chardonnay, Sundial, California
·         Fetzer Vineyards 2009 Zinfandel, Valley Oaks, California
·         Matsu Bodega y Vinedos Ecologicos 2009 Tempranillo, DO Toro, Spain, Santa Maria Valley
·         Patria Merlot, IGT Sicilia, Italy
·         Robert Oatley Vineyards 2010 Rosé of Sangiovese, Mudgee, Australia
·         Robert Oatley Vineyards 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon/ Merlot, Mudgee, Australia
·         Robert Oatley Vineyards 2011 Riesling, Signature, Great Southern, Australia
·         Robert Oatley Vineyards 2011 Sauvignon Blanc, Signature, Margaret River, Australia
·         Sanctuary Estates 2008 Pinot Noir, Bien Nacido Vineyard
·         St. James Winery Raspberry, American
·         Tenryo Hidahomare Junmai Ginjyo, Japan
·         Tenuta Roveglia 2011 Trebbiano, Limne, Lugana, Italy
·         Valle de La Puerta 2009 Malbec- Bonarda, Alta, Famatina Valley, Argentina
·         Vignobles Gilles Louvet 2009 Rhone Blend Domaine Felix des Toureilles Organic,
·         Vignobles Gilles Louvet NV Brut Bulles d’O Organic, AOC Blanquette de Limoux
The Hot, New, Now Media Award went to Purgatory Vodka made by Alaska Distillery—a small batch Alaskan-owned and operated micro-distillery.
WSWA honored Vern Underwood, Chairman of the Board of Young’s Market Company, as the recipient of the Lifetime Leadership Award, and Mark Brown, CEO of Sazerac with the Sidney Frank Award.
The convention also featured inspirational speaker Nando Parrado and keynote speakers John Hofmeister, Erik Qualman and Kit Codik.
Highlights from the WSWA 69th Annual Convention & Exposition, winning drink recipes and a full list of competition winners are available online at, as well as Video highlights are available at
The WSWA 70th Annual Convention & Exposition will take place from April 27, 2013 to April 30, 2013 at the Grande Lakes Orlando in Florida.

Back to news releases